Sports, TV, Coffee, or Carbs

Image

I asked my brother once what sort of new years resolution that he was making.  He said “I’m giving up smoking”.  To which I responded “you don’t smoke”.  To which he responded “I know, its going really well”.

The season of Lent is upon us, and for most evangelicals that means nothing.  I have always contended that Lent can be a great time of spiritual growth for any Christian no matter what denomination.  Fasting can be a great way to focus on our wants versus our needs, Christ versus ourselves.  Yet many churches threw the baby out with the bath water when they had theological disagreements.

So for this Season of Lent I will be giving up something in order to focus on seeking God to fulfill my needs.  I initially wanted to give up something that had no ulterior motive like physical health. However food is something that I use to both entertain, indulge, and sustain me, so food makes sense.  TV and sports are something that distracts me, so that would make sense.  Coffee is something that I depend on to energize me so that makes sense as well.

So without further ado, I want to throw it out to you.  First because I could see giving up any of these things in order to help me focus on Christ.  Secondly because you all have not been giving me any feedback and I am trying to coerce you out of hiding.  Please respond to this post with which vice you think I should give up:  Sports, Sugar, Coffee, or TV.  And while you are at it, consider if this season can be a good time for you to focus more on Christ and our needs rather than yourself and your wants.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

