And Then His Foot Just Snapped Off

Image

I have been volunteering to go and tutor at Pearson Elementary for the last couple months.  This last Monday as I was leaving the office I heard the sound of metal rolling across concrete.  Then I looked down and realized that I was standing on one foot and my other foot was behind me.  The collar between my foot and my socket just snapped in half.  This is not too uncommon for me as many of you know I believe myself to be a bit of a legend when it comes to breaking legs.

What is more normal than I would like it be is downright bewildering for other people.  There was a woman that came walking up behind me as I was collecting my various leg parts.  She seemed to take a moment to process what she was seeing, then to her credit she offered to help.  When she offered me a ride to my car I told her that I could just hop to my car, but I thanked her for the offer.

I cannot imagine what must be going through people’s minds when they see a man hopping across the parking lot with their leg flapping in the wind and a foot under their arm.  I have no point to this story, I just thought you all would appreciate it.

One thought on “And Then His Foot Just Snapped Off

Leave a Reply

