My Apology for the Heaven-Headed

Image

I want to take a moment to apologize to all those people that have had a bad experience with the Heaven-Heads.  You know the people that I am talking about, the people that would like to enjoy life here on earth but they can only think about what it will be like in heaven.  I believe that an apology is in order because they give those that believe that God has some work to do here looking stupid.

I know that this post sounds a little sharp, but if there is one song that I have a hard time listening to it is the song “I Can Only Imagine” by Mercy Me.  Those that know me, know that I have a hard time listening to Christian Music and this is one of the reasons why; Heaven-Heads. Here is the thing, Mercy Me does a lot of great work to help feed children all over the world.  I once new a person that had entire worship sets that talked about what it would be like to leave this earth.

So here is to the Earthbound, those that intentionally build relationships with people around them because the gospel matters to all people.  Here’s to the Dirt-Workers, the people that realize that part of the way the gospel is expressed is serving others in the community and around the world.  Here is to those people that realize that while Heaven will be awesome, “thy kingdom come” means that maybe we are supposed to be working to bring the Kingdom of God to those around us.  Meanwhile, didn’t God make a pretty beautiful creation for us to enjoy?

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

