Skiing, Duct Tape, and a Fake Leg 2

shift

When I lost my leg in 1992 I spent a good deal of time trying to figure out a way to accept what had happened to me.  One of the ways that I did this was to try to forget about it and move on.  The problem was that I had an ever present reminder of it every morning when I woke up to put my leg on.  Usually in high school and college I also dealt with a great deal of physical pain. My friends and I would spend some of our dumber moments, sometimes less than sober, talking about how we would like to torment the person that did this to me by camping out on her front lawn as a reminder of the accident that took my leg.

When I graduated high school and started to understand the forgiveness that I had been given, I started to changed.  I found myself in my late 20’s wondering what happened to the woman who hit me with that huge car. I am not sure that she ever received the letter that I sent her, but at some point in my life I had moved from anger and bitterness to forgiveness, to reconciliation.  She had an accident that may have caused her more emotional pain and memories than I was dealing with.  I can’t imagine what it would have been like to deal with the regret of hitting someone .

One thought on “Skiing, Duct Tape, and a Fake Leg 2

Leave a Reply

