Weight, Yes. Age, No

Image

I have never understood why people get bent out of shape about age, although age does tend to bend the shape.  I cannot control it, time marches on.  Someone told me yesterday that my birthday means I am getting older.  I reject that idea, I just got older as I was typing these last few words, there it happened again, and again.  

I believe in the rule of rounding, I turned 38 on my half birthday.  People asked me if I was getting worried about getting older and I told them that I was more worried about getting fatter because I could control that.  I don’t, but I could.  I have also been told that I am getting more grey to which I respond “you haven’t seen the other guys on my mom’s side of the family, I will take grey as long as I have it”.  

So here I am 38, more grey hair, more to love, and more to ache.  I find it interesting that people have taken me out to eat over my birthday as if to say “lets make you feel better about something you can’t control by tempting you with something that you can”.  Don’t get me wrong, I would not give back the great BBQ I have had over the last couple of day, I’m just sayin’.  There it happened again, and again, there’s no stopping it.  

Leave a Reply

