1, 2, 3, Ding

Have you ever tried to take a step back and look at the conglomeration that your life is?  When I look at the interests that I have, the commitments that I have made, the obligations that I fulfill, and the passions that I pursue, the only questions I have is “how am I able to string a sentence together?”

Honestly, on the way to work this morning I found myself thinking about my children, the seahawks, my job, my wife’s job, the trip that I just got back from, a current theological musing and how it related to the commercial that I just listened to on the radio, all while driving down the road a 50 mph.  I could spend time writing about the amazing capacity of the human brain to adapt to its environment, but honestly I want more limitations.

I want a bell, a bell that rings when I am full.  Further, I want that bell to go off after my brain has processed through maybe three different topics.  1, 2, 3, ding, maybe that would help me to focus on one topic or task and help me get something done.  If we all had that bell, do you think that we would be better or worse off as human beings?  Obviously less would be accomplished, but I am not sure that is a bad thing.  What do you think?

Image

One thought on “1, 2, 3, Ding

  1. I think what I need is a bell that dings when I am thinking about the right thing, and a buzzer that buzzes when I am not concentrating on the right thing. I don’t know about you, but I would hear alot more buzzes than dings.

Leave a Reply

