Bart, You are a Grown Man!!

Image

I am now 38 years old.  I had an epiphany yesterday that in a couple of years I will be closer to retirement age than high school graduation age.  So the other night I had to catch a shuttle from the gas station about a quarter mile from my church.  I parked at the church at 1 o’clock in the morning which thankfully now has parking lot lights.  As if the time of morning and the fact that I was alone were not enough, there has been a large black bear in the woods next to the church.  And if that were not enough, there was a thick fog that had settled in that night.

So as I stepped out of my car and unloaded my baggage (by baggage I am not referring to latent fears from childhood viewings of “Friday the 13th”, those I apparently have not unloaded).  I looked around and thought “just start walking Bart”.  So the grown up started to walk at a brisk pace along the lonely, foggy, wooded, highway at 1 o’clock in the morning.  My wife has a belief in Sasquatch, I don’t.  What I struggle with is the humans, and the black bear.

Needless to say I made it, or the person that killed me has taken over my blog.  When I was sitting on the bench at the gas station I couldn’t help but laugh at myself.  The whole scenario would have played out much differently in my head if there was just one person there to share it with.  With two or three other people this becomes a great game of hide-and-seek.  With one person it is just the beginning of a horror movie.

One thought on “Bart, You are a Grown Man!!

Leave a Reply

